Anyone else feel like this yet?
I laughed out loud when I saw this because, well, I definitely have that mentality sometimes. For example, when I avoid carbs for dinner, skip my usual glass (or two) of wine, and have one piece of chocolate (instead of six), I wake up the next morning and discover, GASP, my pants aren't falling off from being too big yet? Here's how I look...
Picture
My reaction when I realize I haven't shed 20lbs overnight
All kidding aside, sometimes our expectations are slightly unrealistic. The truth is, most people do not typically shed weight in a matter of hours, days, or even weeks. For some of us, losing weight is a very difficult process - both physically and mentally. I think if we gave all of ourselves a little more credit and a little more time, we'd be so much more successful in our journey. Easier said than done, I know. The great thing about this challenge? We have a built-in community of people who can remind us that the lower number on the scale or the loose jeans WILL come, just not overnight. If we stay committed to this challenge, we will all see those results we so greatly desire.

With that being said - here's last night's dinner. It's super easy, super delicious, and completely challenge-approved (if you are following the basic nutrition plan, if you are on Chef Kirsten's plan, I believe you can have this once your initial phase is over).

Healthy Shepherd's Pie

I'm not exactly sure how the Irish would feel about this one, but I thought it was pretty awesome! If you read yesterday's post you'll see I made Precision Nutrition's Coconut Cauliflower Mash.  There was a TON left over, so instead of wasting it or eating the same thing over and over, I mixed it up by making a mock-version of Shepherd's Pie.
I wish I had an elaborate recipe to give you, but I simply sauteed some onions, added frozen peas and carrots, and browned some lean ground beef. I seasoned everything with garlic powder, some chili powder, salt, and pepper. I spread the cauliflower leftovers in a baking dish and topped it with the meat and veggies. I let it bake at 350* for about 30 minutes and it was all done. It's a very simple recipe and it would only take a bit longer if you have to prepare the cauliflower mash ahead of time (this might take  10 - 15 minutes).  If you're looking for a more detailed recipe, check this one out.

The best part of this recipe? LEFTOVERS. LOTS AND LOTS OF LEFTOVERS.

I hope you guys are doing well and staying motivated! I hear so many of you speaking so positively in the gym and on our Facebook group and it is truly wonderful to hear! Our community will definitely improve our outlook on this challenge and every milestone we make as individuals is a milestone for the entire group!

So, what did you guys have for dinner last night?

- Casey
Tracy
1/24/2013 02:41:29 am

I love foods of all kinds and luckily I am a decent cook, so eating lean meat and tons of veggies is a piece of cake. Mmmm... cake... That means I also LOVE bread, pasta, rice, oatmeal, etc. so the days I can't eat those things are always a little tough.

Last night I got to have CARBS! (Post-workout meal.) So I was very excited to make simple spaghetti with meat sauce and a big salad on the side. I used 96% lean ground beef and all-natural NO SUGAR ADDED marinara. I was looking at the measly 3/4 cup of the pasta and thinking, that's not nearly enough. But, I just ate slowly and enjoyed every bite, and guess what - it was plenty!

Tonight, after my workout, I'm going to have some RICE with my baked salmon and broccoli :-)

Reply
Casey
1/28/2013 03:26:53 am

Mmm....carbs. Now I want some rice!! How do you usually prepare the salmon? I'm looking for a yummy recipe!

Reply
Joff
1/25/2013 02:55:11 am

I have felt this same way often. Used to joke that I would deliver this "baby" that is my belly tomorrow if I could. Now I know it's mostly about eating the right foods and making small steps/changes each day. A part of me still wants the instant change though.

Reply
Casey
1/28/2013 03:22:37 am

Good to know I'm not alone!! I think we all still want the instant change, no matter what!

Reply
Linda
1/25/2013 09:56:28 am

Ahh, wouldn't it be great if the results were instant?! Love the shepherd's pie idea and will be trying it soon.

Reply
Casey
1/28/2013 03:21:52 am

Great, Linda! Let me know how it goes!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.