Good afternoon Challengers! How is everyone doing? If you're anything like my dogs, you wish it was Saturday already:
Anyway, besides showing you how lazy my dogs are, I thought I would show you what I ate for dinner yesterday to maybe give you a better idea of what a typical challenge meal might look like. 

Let's be honest, starting a new diet is NOT easy. Especially when you've likely indulged in some delicious goodies over the holidays. And by "some", I really mean eating your weight in your favorite Christmas cookies. Or maybe that was just me ;)

Regardless, the holidays are over and it's time for us to get back on track and renew our commitment to fitness and health. The crazy part? It might not be so bad. With the wonderful support from the Element 5 community, the awesome recipes available to you via Chef Kirsten or Precision Nutrition, and of course, Rommel's fountain of knowledge, I think we might just have a great time during this challenge! 

Yesterday I had a pretty good day in terms of eating! Here's a breakdown of my day:
BREAKFAST: 2-egg Omelet with chopped zucchini, spinach, and red peppers.
LUNCH: Spinach salad with mixed veggies and grilled chicken
SNACK: Greek yogurt with 1/2 small apple, chopped (this was post workout).

Then came dinner - my favorite! I browsed through the Precision Nutrition recipes and the following menu caught my eye: Sirloin Burgers paired with Cauliflower Coconut Mash. The best part about this meal is that you can eat it at anytime - no matter if you were able to workout that day or not. Plus, it's delicious! Even if you're not a huge fan of cauliflower, I highly recommend giving it a try. Many clients have told us even their kids love this (or a similar) recipe!  Here are the recipes:

Sirloin Burger (Anytime Meal)

Serves: Serves 1 large or 2 small.

Ingredients
Ground sirloin or extra lean ground beef (170 g) 6 oz
Salt 2 pinches
Pepper 1 pinch
Chili powder 1 pinch
Fresh garlic (minced) 1 tsp
Onion (finely chopped) 2 tbsp
Worcestershire sauce 1 tsp
Olive oil cooking spray

Instructions: Preheat a non-stick frying pan on medium heat. Combine all ingredients except cooking spray together in a mixing bowl and stir until completely combined. Form into a round shape about ¾ inch thick. Lightly coat pan with spray and place the sirloin burger into the pan. Cook the burger until lightly browned and then gently flip and brown the other side. Cook all the way through and serve. Serves 1 large or 2 small.

Coconut Cauliflower Mash (Anytime Meal)

Serves: 1 large or 2 small.

Ingredients (for Coconut Cauliflower Mash)
Cauliflower (rough chopped) 3 cups
Cashews (crushed) ¼ cup
Coconut milk ¼ cup
Salt 1 pinch
Pepper 1 pinch
Cinnamon 1 pinch
Instructions
Add all the ingredients to a pot and bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce heat to low and cover with a tight-fitting lid. Simmer for 15 minutes and then remove from heat. Purée in a blender or food processor until smooth. Add 1 tablespoon of water at a time if necessary to get the mixture moving. Serves 1 large or 2 small.


I think the best part was my workout at Element 5 Fitness this afternoon. With each dumbbell press and torturous RDL, I got more confident in knowing I was doing something great for myself. Even if Drew and Rommel were nearby lifting a million times more than me, I was content in pushing myself to my own limit, and enjoying the (slight smelly) company. Just kidding, Drew, you don't smell THAT bad.

Overall, a pretty successful day! Although, I'm not going to lie, I would KILL for a glass of wine or some ice cream. Luckily, the support I see from the group and the inspiration from Rommel's words of wisdom has me seeing a light at the end of the tunnel. 

I'll be checking in again soon! Please sound off in the comments section - let's get some discussion going! What was your hardest part about today? What was your favorite part?

Casey
Joff
1/23/2013 08:38:00 am

Thank you for posting this and the yummy looking recipes. I will definitely try the Cauliflower Mash. This is Day 3 for me and while I am 100% compliant, I am finding the hardest part (so far) is remembering to eat some protein every few hours. I should add that today was my 2nd day of E5 workout. I am sore and exhausted, but it's almost a "satisfying" kind of sore.

The best part of today was reading the wall of "inspirations" after my workout. "I may not be there yet, but I am better than I was yesterday." Wonder what 8 weeks will bring? Here's to more great changes!

Reply
Casey
1/24/2013 02:17:33 am

Joff,

Thank you so much for your contagious enthusiasm and motivation! You seem very dedicated and committed to this challenge and all of us at E5 will stop at nothing to help you reach those goals!! Keep it going!! We are rooting for you and working alongside you!

Reply
Linda
1/24/2013 02:02:24 am

What a great post showing how simple the meal planning can be. You are right, change is hard, but with a few rules and a roadmap, we can do it! Hardest part for me is also getting in the protein. Best part is working out to earn the carbs! :o) I agree with Joff, all the inspiration and motivation is wonderful! Thanks!

Reply
Casey
1/24/2013 02:19:16 am

Linda,

Girl, you have ME IMPRESSED! You always show up for class with a huge smile on your face and take every challenge head-on. Your positive attitude and strong will will surely have you reaching your goals!!

And I 100000% agree that working out to earn the carbs is SO worth it!

Reply
Sandy
1/26/2013 07:31:43 am

Hi Casey, thanks or writing this blog that the rest of us can enjoy. I came into the challenge a little late so have only gotten in two workouts so far but I'm finding the course materials, the photos & your blog helpful. I really appreciate all f you making me feel welcome. Looking forward to your next post and recipes!

Reply



Leave a Reply.